top of page
Search
  • Mrs. Vickers

The Hawthorne Legacy



Thank goodness for cold winter weather and days off of work. On my weeklong winter break, I started reading book 2 in The Inheritance series, The Hawthorne Legacy, by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. If you read my review of the first book in this series, The Inheritance Games, you may recall my certainty at solving the end puzzle and only moments later to realize that my guess was entirely wrong.


The Hawthorne Legacy continues on with the mystery, the puzzles and riddles, the anagrams, palindromes, and ciphers . . oh my! I read page by page with great paranoia. What if I missed a clue? I read and then reread the chapters as if to solve the mystery before the author revealed it. 


This sequel did not disappoint. In short . . . I loved it! 


The story of Avery Kylie Grambs continues as a new heiress to the fortune of Tobias Hawthorne with twists and turns to a variety of mysteries within the mystery. Like I said, I was keeping notes in my head to keep track of characters and their involvement in the plot. 


Character development deepens and gave me a “now, I understand” moments. Some of the minor characters in book one are given more ink in book two and become endearing individuals. Be on the lookout for Maxine “Max” Liu, Avery’s best, and only friend. Max refuses to write curse words in texts in case her parents see them. She creates a creative vocabulary to replace them both in texts and in conversations. I must admit that it was entertaining to read, without the curse words stated but rather inferred.


The Hawthorne Legacy did not disappoint as the  journey of Avery, the heiress, continues.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page