top of page
Search
  • Mrs. Vickers

Dear student,

Updated: May 16, 2023

In another life, I swear I must have been a Walmart greeter (or at least in my dreams I feel I was). I love saying, “Hello,” “Hey,” “Good morning,” “Have a good day,” and so on. I love it even more when the students that come into the Learning Commons at my school reciprocate with a greeting or salutation to me.


Here is how one greeting went. 


Me: “Good morning, how’s it going?”

Student: “It’s okay.”

Me: “Good to hear.”

Student: “Thanks for saying ‘hello’ and acknowledging me.

Me: “No problem at all. I’m glad you’re here.”

Student : “But I mean it, thanks for acknowledging me. It makes me feel like I am seen.”


Dear student,

You are seen. Even if I am at my computer station with line-up of students waiting to sign out a book. I will do my best to catch your eye and let you know I see you. Keep in mind that I also see you sneaking a slush-drink into the Learning Commons. 


You are heard, which means I will listen to you. I will ask about your classes and listen to your response. I may ask why you’re not in class and take great delight in the creative excuse you tell me. I will do my best to hear you. Sometimes, in all honesty, I may have no idea what you are talking about. But, I will listen to you (and afterwards likely get my co-worker to explain it to me).


I will acknowledge you. You are important. You matter.  Sometimes we all need to be reminded of that.


Sincerely,

The Unshelved Librarian


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Five Little Indians

Please note : some of the content of the book may be a trigger to trauma or distress experienced by the residential school system. The Indian Residential School Survivors Society has a toll-free numbe

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page