top of page
Search
  • Mrs. Vickers

Just read this book . . .

I finished reading this book the other night. As I reached the final pages, I exclaimed aloud, "AHA! I know who it is." From the other room, my daughter (who had just finished reading the series, called back, "Are you sure?'" Feeling pretty confident that I had solved the mystery in Book 1 of a 3-part series, I continued to finish up the last few paragraphs. Alas, I was wrong and those last few sentences left me with even more questions as I start book 2.


"The Inheiritance Games" by author Jennifer Lynn Barnes had me sleuthing through this book like I was a special agent in a CSI episode. The primary plot line follows the main character, Avery Grambs, a teen that is left a billion dollar fortune in the will of philanthropist, Tobias Hawthorne. The will however, states that she must live in his mansion for one year, alongside all the relatives who are angry and confused that they didn't inherit the fortune.

Why would a complete stranger name Avery in his will? What will the relatives do to prevent Avery from fulfilling the task of living in the mansion for one year to claim the billions? What secrets will Avery discover about the Hawthorne family? There are twists and turns in the plot that will have you shouting out loud "AHA!" only to realize a few pages later that you really have no idea what it going on.


The Inheiritance Games is the starter book in The Inheiritance Series that also includes, The Hawthorne Legacy and The Final Gambit. Billed as a young adult, mystery/thriller that is sure to be a huge hit in our school library.


I dare you to read it . . . and try and solve the mystery.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page