top of page
Search
  • Mrs. Vickers

How Hot Was It?


In the kitchen a fan whirred back and forth, stirring up the soupy air. My dog nudged my knee with his nose. "Bow-w-out, bow-w-out," he begged. "It's too hot to go out, Dog" I said. How hot was it? It was a grueling, drooling, tongue-dragging, tail-sagging, nose-pressed-to-the-door, flop-down-on-the-floor kind of hot.” (How Hot Was It? By Jane Barclay)

Today felt like a ‘how hot was it kind of day.’ Canadian author, Jane Barclay and illustrator, Janice Donato will have the sweat pouring off of the pages as you read this wonderfully rhyming children’s book. You will feel the heat melt off each and every page. Can you think of a reply to the question - how hot was it? It was so hot that.....(insert your caption). This book will stretch a child’s imagination as well as their vocabulary by introducing delightfully descriptive images of exactly ‘how hot was it.’ I think maybe I should have read her companion book, How Cold Was It. It might just have cooled me down today.


Heat Warning was issued today so be sure to stay hydrated and stay safe!



25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page