top of page
Search
  • Mrs. Vickers

Books and beading


I love books . . . and I should. I've worked in a public school library for over 20 years! Books can give information and facts, transport us to magical lands, and spark imagination in us. We can learn something new when we read a book. This book written by Christi Belcourt features First People's beading history and techniques.


I have a fascination with beads and beading. Many years ago I took a beading and moccasin making class at my community school. Our teacher, was Kokum Rosemary. She made sure that I was "doin' it right." The class met for weeks while we beaded and stitched our moccasins and our friendships together. While the class may have ended . . . my friendship with Rosemary kept on going. It has been a few years since she has been gone from us but when I sit down to bead or work with tanned hides and leather I can't help but think of her patience with us. Has someone taught you something new? Do you have a gift or talent that you can share with others? I love to hear all about it.


Here is my latest beading project - a pair of mukluks for my daughter.


51 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page